Call Today: 1-800-491-3691

دروس الحياة من خلال الحزن - الثقة بغرائزك

دروس الحياة من خلال الحزن - الثقة بغرائزك

التصنيفات: مدونة, الحزن والخسارة

رن الهاتف الخلوي وأنا جالس على مكتبي في العمل. على الرغم من أنه كان رقم زوجي ، فقد وجدت شخصًا غريبًا على الطرف الآخر. كان زوجي في حادث. كانت سيئة. سمعت صوتي يسأل بسرعة ... "طفلي" - في إشارة إلى طفلي البالغ من العمر 10 أشهر كنت أعرف أنه في السيارة معه. كان طفلي على ما يرام ، ولكن زوجي ... في الوقت الذي وصلوا فيهما إلى مستشفياتهما ، كان زوجي يرمز ويمر. كان لدي وظيفة لا تحسد عليها في الاتصال بعمري البالغ من العمر 7 سنوات من الفصل وإخباره أن والده لن يعود إلى المنزل. وفجأة ، كنت أحد الوالدين لطفلين صغيرين.

واجهت الكثير من القرارات في الأيام التي تلت ذلك. عشنا في منزل يبعد 8 ساعات عن أقرب أقربائنا في حي هامشي. كان لدينا فواتير ، الكثير منها. عملت في وظيفة بساعات غير منتظمة. ذهبت في الطيار الآلي. في مواجهة الخسارة المفاجئة ، كانت القرارات التي كنت أواجهها شبه مستعصية. لذلك اتبعت غرائزي. بالنسبة لعائلتي ، كان هذا يعني التخلي عن حياتنا في تكساس والانتقال إلى المنزل ، والسماح للمنزل بالعودة إلى البنك ، والبدء من جديد. كان ذلك يعني التبرع بمكتبة زوجي المهنية للمدرسة التي كان يدرس فيها والكلية التي كنا متقاربين فيها بشكل وثيق ، لتكريم إرثه في التدريس. وهذا يعني منح الأصدقاء المقربين في العمل عناصر شخصية لتذكرنا بها. وهذا يعني التخلي عن الكثير من الأشياء الزائدة أو التخلص منها ، وهي عملية تطهير من نوع ما. كان هذا يعني إعادة أطفالي وأنا إلى جدول زمني منتظم بأسرع ما يمكن أن أديره ، لإدارة قلقنا بشكل أفضل من جميع التغييرات. تضمن تكييف تقاليد عائلية معينة لتعكس واقعنا الجديد ، في حين ترك الآخرين يذهبون تمامًا.

خلال الأشهر التي تلت ذلك ، دعمت قلقي البالغ من العمر 7 سنوات من خلال السماح له بالنوم معي ، ولكن فقط في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع ، لذلك ما زال يتعلم إدارة القلق بشكل مستقل في ليالي المدرسة. تركت عملًا جديدًا أخذني بعيدًا عن المنزل كثيرًا لأحصل على وظيفة أخرى أقل أجراً سمحت لي بالعودة إلى المنزل عندما عاد ابني إلى المنزل من المدرسة ، بسبب مخاوفه عندما لم يكن يعرف مكان تواجدي. وربما الأهم من ذلك ، أنني بحثت عن دعم الكبار من الأصدقاء والعائلة بمجرد أن أدركت حاجتي للتواصل خارج حاجة أطفالي الصغار ووالدي المسنين. استغرقت عملية التكيف بعد وفاة زوجي سنتين على الأقل ، بدعم كبير من عائلتي وأصدقائي.

حدث معظم هذا عن طريق الغريزة. قد يكون من السهل أن تخمن نفسك عندما تواجه ما هو غير مفهوم. لكنني علمت أن الغريزة صلبة. يمكن الوثوق بها. لا يوجد شخصان يعانيان من نفس مجموعة الظروف ، وقد يواجه شخص آخر ظروفًا مختلفة ، وقد يكون قد قام بخيارات مختلفة. وهذا على ما يرام! هذه الغرائز تقول الكثير عما تحتاجه الآن ، ويمكنك الوثوق بها.

إذا وجدت نفسك تكافح ، فأنا أشجعك على الاتصال بقسم الثكلى في ميدلاند ، للتحدث مع مستشار أو استكشاف إحدى مجموعاتنا. تقدم ميدلاند مجموعة متنوعة من المجموعات لتلبية الاحتياجات المتنوعة لأولئك في خدماتنا ، بما في ذلك احتياجات الأسر التي لديها أطفال. قد تجد ، من خلال الحضور ، أنك لست وحدك في تجاربك ، وربما ستجد التشجيع لاتباع غرائزك في مستقبل الشفاء.

استفسار المساعدة

سيتم استخدام المعلومات التي تم جمعها فقط لأغراض توصيلك بالموارد التي تبحث عنها. لن تشترك في أي رسائل إخبارية. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالعمل في Midland Care ، فيرجى زيارة صفحة الوظائف.
  • حدد طريقة الاتصال المفضلة لديك
  • يرجى وصف ما تبحث عنه للمساعدة في
  • هذا الحقل هو لأغراض التحقق ويجب تركه دون تغيير.

رعاية ميدلاند

Call Today: 800-491-3691

Life Lessons Through Grief – Trusting Your Instincts

Life Lessons Through Grief – Trusting Your Instincts

Categories: Blog, grief and loss

The cell phone rang as I sat at my desk at work. Though it was my husband’s number, I found a stranger on the other end. My husband had been in an accident. It was bad. I heard my voice ask quickly… “My baby” – referencing my 10 month old I knew was in the car with him. My baby was fine, but my husband…  By the time they both reached their hospitals, my husband coded and passed. I had the unenviable job of calling my 7 year old from class and telling him his father wouldn’t be coming home. And suddenly, I was a single parent of 2 young children.

I faced a lot of decisions in the days that followed. We lived in a house 8 hours away from our nearest relatives, in a marginal neighborhood. We had bills, lots of them. I worked a job with irregular hours.  I went on autopilot. In the face of sudden loss, the decisions I was facing were almost insurmountable. So I followed my instincts. For my family, this meant abandoning our life in Texas and moving home, letting the house go back to the bank, and starting over. It meant donating my husband’s professional library to the school where he taught and the college where we were closely aligned, to honor his legacy of teaching. It meant giving close friends at work personal items to remember us by. It meant giving away or throwing away a lot of excess stuff, a cleansing process of sorts. It meant getting my kids and me back on a regular schedule as quickly as I could manage, to better manage our anxiety from all the changes. It included adapting certain family traditions to reflect our new reality, while letting others go altogether.

During the months that followed, I supported my anxiety driven 7 year old by allowing him to sleep with me, but only on the weekends, so he still learned to manage anxiety independently on school nights. I left a new job that took me away from home a lot to take another lesser paying job that allowed me to be home when my son got home from school, due to his fears when he didn’t know where I was. And probably most significantly, I sought out adult support of friends and family as soon as I realized my need for communication outside that of my young children and my elderly parents. The adaptation process after the death of my husband took AT LEAST 2 years, with SIGNIFICANT support from my family and friends.

Most of this happened by instinct. It can be easy to second guess yourself when faced with the incomprehensible. But I learned that instinct is solid. It can be trusted. No two people have the same set of circumstances, and facing similar circumstances, another person might have made different choices. AND THAT IS OK! Those instincts say a lot about what you need RIGHT NOW, and you can trust them.

If you find yourself struggling, I encourage you to call the bereavement department at Midland, to speak with a counselor or explore one of our groups. Midland offers a variety of groups to meet the varying needs of those in our services, including those of families with children. You may find, by attending , that you are not alone in your experiences, and maybe you’ll find the encouragement to follow your instincts into a healing future.

Assistance Inquiry

The information collected will be used solely for the purposes of connecting you to the resources you are looking for. You will not be subscribed to any newsletters. If you are interested in working for Midland Care please visit our careers page, job inquiries on this form will not be responded to.
  • Select your preferred contact method
  • Please describe what you are looking for help with
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.