اتصل اليوم: 800-491-3691

قابل المتطوعين: رويس دنت

قابل المتطوعين: رويس دنت

التصنيفات: مدونة

رويس متطوع قديم في ميدلاند. تطوعت في عدة أقسام ، أبرزها برنامج المحاربين القدامى ، وهي شخصية بارزة في مركز الأمل والشفاء حيث تقدم الدعم لكل من برامج الكبار والأطفال.

لقد كنت متطوعًا لبعض الوقت. كيف أصبحت مهتمًا بالتطوع في ميدلاند؟
لقد عشت معظم حياتي في توبيكا حيث ولدت. منذ حوالي 15 عامًا ، انتقلت إلى أوماها ، شمال شرق ، وبعد 8 سنوات هناك أدركت أنه "لا يوجد مكان مثل المنزل" وعدت إلى كانساس. تقاعدت بحلول ذلك الوقت ، أردت أن أجد هدفًا جديدًا لحياتي وطريقة لرد الجميل للمجتمع. بعد ذلك بقليل ، رأيت إعلانًا تليفزيونيًا عن ميدلاند كير. في ذلك الوقت ، كل ما كنت أعرفه هو دار المسنين. لكوني ممرضة من الجيل الرابع ولست غريبًا على المراحل الأخيرة من حياتي ، فقد قررت ملء طلب التطوع. خلال فصل تدريب المتطوعين ، تعلمت العديد من جوانب رعاية ميدلاند. لذلك قررت أن أجرب شيئًا مختلفًا. لقد بدأت مع Youth Corps ، التي عملت مع طلاب المدارس المتوسطة. قام هذا البرنامج بتعليم الشباب حول كونهم متطوعين ، ومهارات المواطنة ، وما إلى ذلك. كما تم تعريفهم ببرنامج التطوع في ميدلاند. في السنة الثانية التي عملت فيها مع فيلق الشباب ، أصبح من الضروري أن يوافق الأطفال الذين شاركوا على التطوع لعدة ساعات من وقتهم في برامجنا التطوعية. تم تقديم فيلق الشباب فقط خلال فصل الصيف ، لذلك قمت بالتحقيق في مبادرات أخرى في ميدلاند ، والباقي هو التاريخ. لقد كنت جزءًا من العديد من مكونات المنظمة على مر السنين. لقد زرت مع عملاء في منازلهم ودور رعاية المسنين ، وقمت بتسليم وردة بيضاء لمنزل الجنازة من ميدلاند كير في ذكرى مريض توفي أثناء خدمة المسنين لدينا ، وساعد في بطولة الجولف لعدة سنوات ، وجلس بجانب سرير المرضى في الساعات التي سبقت وفاتهم عندما لم يتمكن أحد أفراد الأسرة من الحضور (Sacred Vigil Watch) ، وساعدهم في برامج تدريب المتطوعين الجديدة والاحتفال بالحياة. حاليًا IsupportFamily Evenings (برنامج حزن الأسرة مصمم خصيصًا لحزن الأطفال وعائلاتهم) ، معسكر الحزن (للأطفال الحزينة) ، شارك في تسهيل مجموعات الحزن للبالغين ، والحفاظ على مشروع Star المحاربين القدامى.

منذ متى وانت تفعل كل هذا؟
سأبدأ سنتي السابعة الشهر المقبل.

شارك قليلاً عن برنامج المحاربين القدامى الذي عملت معه في ميدلاند. هل هذا شيء بدأته أم شيء كان موجودًا بالفعل عندما بدأت العمل معها؟
كان برنامج We Honor قدامى المحاربين قائمًا بالفعل. عندما أصبحت متطوعًا ، اقترحت أن هدية صغيرة مصنوعة يدويًا ومخصصة ، تم إنشاؤها بالفعل من قبل صديق مخضرم في الحرب الكورية من أوماها ، قد تكون تعزيزًا لهذا البرنامج. بعد الموافقة ، وُلد مشروع Star Project المخضرم ، وأصبح "طفلي" ليدي الصنع والتفريق. تلقى المحاربون القدامى في جميع مناطق الخدمة في ميدلاند ، والذين جاءوا في خدمة المسنين ، الشكر له / لها على خدمتهم لبلدنا وأيضًا للاعتراف بتضحيات العائلة خلال تلك الفترة. لسوء الحظ ، بعد تكريم أكثر من 1200 من المحاربين القدامى وبسبب تأثير Covid-19 ، تم إيقاف هذا المشروع. ومع ذلك ، أنا متحمس للغاية وفخور بأن أقول إنني قد أنشأت مكافأة جديدة سيتم تنفيذها بعد الموافقة بمجرد أن يكون ذلك آمنًا ومناسبًا. تأثير هذه الهدية الصغيرة البسيطة على قدامى المحاربين والأسر الذين تسلم أنه كان عميقاً ... أن شخصاً ما ، في الساعات الأخيرة من حياتهم ، يشكرهم على خدمتهم!

أنت أيضًا منخرط بشدة في برامج البالغين والأطفال في مركز الحزن. ما الذي يجعلك تعود إلى هذه البرامج؟
إنهم الشعب. ليس فقط الموظفين ، ولكن الأطفال والكبار الذين يشاركون في البرامج. هؤلاء أناس محبطون بشأن الخسارة ويبحثون عن شخص يستمع إليهم حقًا ويقبلهم دون قيد أو شرط في مكانهم الصحيح. لقد تعلمت الكثير عن رحلة الحزن التي نقوم بها جميعًا عاجلاً أم آجلاً ، وكلما تعلمت أكثر كلما أردت أن أتعلم أكثر. لقد وجدت حقًا اتجاهًا جديدًا لحياتي باستخدام الهدايا التي منحني إياها الله. إنها تساعدني في حياتي الشخصية أيضًا. إنه يمنحني الأدوات التي أحتاجها لمساعدة الآخرين الذين يعانون من الخسارة. لقد كنت في ذلك المكان ، وأتمنى لو كان لدي شخص يفهم أنه يساعدني في رحلتي الخاصة في ذلك الوقت. آمل أن أكون ذلك الشخص الآن عندما يحين الوقت.

عادة ما يحدث العمل التطوعي في سياق قصص حياتنا. هل يمكنك مشاركة القليل عن قصتك وكيف أدى ذلك إلى عملك مع برامج ميدلاند؟
إنه نوع مثير للاهتمام. الأشياء الأخرى التي قمت بها كانت عظيمة. لقد قابلت الكثير من الأشخاص اللطفاء حقًا. لكن مركز الحزن هو مكان قلبي. لقد فقدت طفلي الأول في منتصف العشرينات من عمري ، كلا الوالدين ، وكذلك أفراد الأسرة والأصدقاء الآخرين منذ ذلك الحين. لا شيء يؤهلك لذلك. ليس لدينا أساس للصواب أو الخطأ. نحن فقط في نهر نبحث عن طوف نجاة. إنه لمن دواعي سروري وشبعًا أن أرى الأطفال والكبار في البداية في أسوأ الأوقات ، عندما يبدأ الشفاء بعد فترة. يبدأون في تعلم كيفية العيش مرة أخرى ، وإعادة بدء حياتهم ، والتكيف مع "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد". لقد أصبحوا الأشخاص الذين من المفترض أن يكونوا بعد خسارتهم وفي هذا الوقت من حياتهم. إنه مثل برعم مع أشواك. لكنهم بدأوا في الفتح. الأشواك ما زالت موجودة وما زالت تتألم لكنها بدأت في رؤية ضوء في نهاية النفق والأمل في مستقبلها. إنه تحول مذهل!

العمل التطوعي هو تحويلي. كيف تغيرت كنتيجة لعملك مع برامج ميدلاند؟
لقد أصبحت أكثر صبرًا ومستمعًا أفضل بكثير. يمكنني أن أكون متعاطفًا مع الناس لأنني سرت في هذا الطريق بنفسي ، ليس بنفس الطريقة ، ولكن في نفس السياق. الحزن والخسارة لا يحترمون الأشخاص. أنا أتعلم بقدر ما أشارك في تسهيل المجموعات والعمل مع العائلات. في حياتي الشخصية ، أعطاني منظورًا أوسع بكثير وفهمًا دقيقًا لنفسي والآخرين. باعتباري مقدم رعاية ، فهي أداة أخرى لدي في صندوق الأدوات الخاص بي واتجاه جديد لحياتي.

أنت تميل إلى إغلاق المجموعات التي تشارك في تسهيلها بنوع من القراءة المشجعة أو الملهمة. ما هي كلمات التشجيع التي تود مشاركتها مع قرائنا اليوم؟
الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكنني من خلالها تلخيص الأمر هي أننا كبشر ، نريد أن نشعر بأن لدينا قيمة. تم منح كل واحد منا هدايا خاصة يمكننا مشاركتها مع الآخرين. يمكن أن تكون بسيطة مثل ابتسامة أو إيماءة نشاركها مع شخص غريب في الشارع. القول المأثور "تحصل على ما تمنحه" صحيح. لكن الحياة علمتني أنه عندما تمنح نفسك للآخرين ، فإن البركات تعود إليك عشرة أضعاف.

أي أفكار أخرى؟
إذا كنت تبحث عن مغامرة جديدة لتحقيق الذات ووسيلة لرد الجميل للمجتمع ، فأنا أشجعك حقًا على مراجعة قسم المتطوعين في ميدلاند كير.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بمعرفة المزيد عن فرص التطوع في ميدلاند ، فاتصل بشيري كومبس على (785) 232-2044.

استفسار المساعدة

سيتم استخدام المعلومات التي تم جمعها فقط لأغراض توصيلك بالموارد التي تبحث عنها. لن تكون مشتركًا في أي رسائل إخبارية. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالعمل لدى Midland Care ، فيرجى زيارة صفحة الوظائف الخاصة بنا ، فلن يتم الرد على استفسارات العمل في هذا النموذج.
  • حدد طريقة الاتصال المفضلة لديك
  • يرجى وصف ما تبحث عنه للمساعدة في
  • هذا الحقل هو لأغراض التحقق ويجب تركه دون تغيير.

رعاية ميدلاند

Call Today: 800-491-3691

Meet the Volunteers: Royce Dent

Meet the Volunteers: Royce Dent

Categories: Blog

Royce is a longtime volunteer of Midland. She has volunteered in multiple departments, most notably the Veterans’ Program, and is a prominent figure at the Center for Hope and Healing where she provides support for both the adult and children’s programs.

You’ve been a volunteer for quite some time. How did you become interested in volunteering at Midland?
I have lived most of my life in Topeka where I was born.About 15 years ago,I moved to Omaha, NE.After 8 years there I realized that “there’s no place like home” and returned to Kansas.Being retired by that time, I wanted to find a new purpose for my life and a way to give back to the community. A little later, I saw a TV commercial about Midland Care. At the time, all I knew about was the hospice house. Being a fourth generation nurse and no stranger to the last stages of life, I decided to fill out the volunteer application. During the volunteer training class,I learned of the many facets of Midland Care. So, I decided to try something different. I started with Youth Corps, which worked with middle school students. This program taught the youth about being a volunteer, citizenship skills, etc. They were also introduced to the volunteer program at Midland. The second year I worked with the Youth Corps, it became a requirement that the kids who participated would agree to volunteer several hours of their time to our volunteer programs. Youth Corps was only offered during the summer, so I investigated other initiatives at Midland, and the rest is history. I’ve been a part of many components of the organization over the years. I have visited with clients in their homes and in nursing homes, delivered a white rose to the funeral homefrom Midland Care in memory of a patient who passedwhile on our hospice service,assisted with the golf tournament for several years,sat at the bedside of patients in the hours leading up to their death when a family member could not be present (Sacred Vigil Watch), and assisted with new volunteer training programs and the Celebration of Life. Currently IsupportFamily Evenings (family grief program specifically intended for grieving children and their families), Grief Camp (for grieving children),co-facilitate adult grief groups, and maintain the Veterans’ Star Project.

How long have you been doing all of this?
I will begin my seventh year next month.

Share a little about the Veteran’s Program that you have worked with at Midland. Is this something you initiated or something that was already in existence when you started working with it?
The We Honor Veterans Program was already in place. When I became a volunteer, I suggested  that perhaps a small, handmade, personalized gift, actually created by a Korean War veteran friend from Omaha, might be an enhancement to this program. Following approval, the Veteran’s Star Project was born, and it became “my baby” to hand make and disperse. Veterans in all of Midland’s service areaswho came on its hospice service received it to thank him/her for their service to our country and also to acknowledge the family’s sacrifice during that time. Unfortunately, after honoring over 1200 veterans and because of the impact of Covid-19, this project has been retired. However, I am extremely excited and proud to say that I have created a new honorarium that, following approval, will be implemented as soon as it’s safe and appropriate to do so.The impact of this small, simple gift on the veterans and families who receive it has been profound…that someone, in the last hours of their lives, is thanking them for their service!

You are also involved heavily in both the adult and children’s programming at the Grief Center. What is it about these programs that keeps you coming back?
It’s the people. Not only the staff, but the kids and the adults who participate in the programs. These are folks who are devastated about a loss and are seeking someone who will really listen to them and unconditionally accept them right where they are. I have learned so much about grief ‘s journey that we all make sooner or later, and the more I learn the more I want to learn. I have truly found a new direction for my life using the gifts God gave me. It helps me in my personal life as well. It gives me the tools I need to help others who are suffering a loss. I have been in that place, and I wish I had had someone who understood to help me with my own journey at the time. Hopefully, I can be that someone now when the time presents itself.

Volunteer work usually occurs in the context of our own life stories. Can you share a little bit about your own story and how that has led to your work with Midland’s programs?
It’s kind of interesting. The other things I have done have been great; I have met a lot of really nice people. But the Grief Center is where my heart is. I lost my first baby in my mid 20s, both parents, as well as other family members and friends since. Nothing prepares you for that. We have no basis for right or wrong. We are just in a river looking for a life raft. It gives me such pleasure and fulfillment to see kids and adults initially at their worst of times,when after a while the healing starts to happen. They begin to learn how to live again, restart their lives, and adjust to their “new normal”. They become the people they were meant to be after their loss and at this time in their life. It is like a rosebud with thorns; but they begin to open. The thorns are still there and still hurt but they begin to see a light at the end of the tunnel and hope for their future. It’s a transformation that’s amazing!

Volunteer work is transformative. How have you changed as a consequence of your work with Midland’s programs?
I have become a lot more patient and a much better listener. I can be empathetic with people because I have walked that road myself, not in the same way, but in the same context. Grief and loss are no respecter of persons. I learn so much as I co-facilitate groups and work with families. In my own personal life, it has given me a much broader perspective and yet a delicate understanding of myself and others. As a caregiver, it is one more tool I have in my toolbox and a new direction for my life.

You tend to close groups that you co-facilitate with some kind of encouraging or inspirational reading. What words of encouragement would like to share with our readers today?
The only way I can sum it up is that as humans, we want to feel like we have value. Each of us has been given special gifts that we can share with others. It can be as simple as a smile or a nod we share with a stranger on the street. The old saying that “you get what you give” is true. But life has taught me that as you give of yourself to others,blessings come back to you tenfold.

Any other thoughts?
If you are looking a new adventure of fulfillment for yourself and a means to give back to the community, I really encourage you to check out the Volunteer Department at Midland Care.

If you are interested in learning more about the volunteer opportunities at Midland, call Sherry Combs at (785) 232-2044.

Assistance Inquiry

The information collected will be used solely for the purposes of connecting you to the resources you are looking for. You will not be subscribed to any newsletters. If you are interested in working for Midland Care please visit our careers page, job inquiries on this form will not be responded to.
  • Select your preferred contact method
  • Please describe what you are looking for help with
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Midland Care