اتصل اليوم: 1-800-491-3691

تعرف على المتطوعين - مركز الأمل والشفاء

تعرف على المتطوعين - مركز الأمل والشفاء

التصنيفات: مدونة, الحزن والخسارة

إن مركز الأمل والشفاء ممتن للعديد من المتطوعين الذين يجعلون التواصل مع الأفراد والأسر ممكنًا. نرغب بشكل دوري في تقديم بعض هؤلاء الأفراد للقارئ لأنهم يشكلون جزءًا مهمًا من الفريق في مركز الأمل والشفاء. 

أول متطوع لدينا هو سيان أوبيرن. سيان هو 19 ، قعلى أحد المستشارين ، الذي تطوع مع ميدلاند لمدة عام تقريبًا. كما هو الحال مع العديد من متطوعينا فقد تأثر مباشرة بالموت عندما توفي والده قبل أكثر من 11 عامًا عندما كان عمره 7 سنوات.  سيان يهتم بالأفلام والموسيقى. يلعب العديد من الآلات الموسيقية ، بما في ذلك الكمان ، المندولين والقيثارة. سيان متطوعون في برامج الأطفال بمركز الأمل والشفاء، المساعدة في Family Nights ومعسكر الأطفال. شارك مواهبه الموسيقية مع الأطفال في المعسكر ، تعليمهم الحبال على القيثارة.  كما يقدم رؤاه واقتراحاته للمجموعات القائمة على الأفلام ، مثل Reel Grief ومقاطع الفيديو المستخدمة في Family Nights. 

كيف كانت حياتك قبل موت والدك؟ وقبعة هل تذكر أنوبة يوم هو مات?
بصراحة لا أتذكر الكثير مما كانت عليه الحياة قبل موت أبي. أتذكر بعض الأشياء المعينة ، مثل الولاءات ، والاستماع إلى / تشغيل الموسيقى وعمتي التي تعيش معنا. اليوم الذي مات فيه كان يوم غريب. كل ما أتذكره هو أن أكون في المدرسة وأخرجني صديق الكنيسة. أذهب إلى منزلها لأجد والدي توفي ، ولا أصدق ذلك. اعتقدت للتو أنه كان نائما. ثم عندما أعادني عمي إلى المنزل ، أدركت ذلك ابي لن أعود ، صرخت للتو. ثم شاهدنا الدمى المتحركة. شاهدنا بعض تلفزيون. أعتقد أن الكوميديا كانت شيئًا احتاجه لإبقاء رأسي فوق الماء.  

ما هي التغييرات التي كان عليك التعامل معها بعد وفاته؟ ما هي التغييرات التي كانت الأصعب؟
بصراحة ، كما يبدو ، أصبحت أسهل بكثير. خرجنا من حي سيء. يجب أن نكون مع العائلة وجميع الحيوانات في مزرعة العائلة. لقد قمت بالتكيف مع مدرسة جديدة وأصدقاء جدد. لكن لفترة ، كنت ضعيفًا ودخلت مع الأطفال الخطأ.  

أتذكر معلمك أو مستشارك يقولجي لي أنهم كانوا قلقين لأنك جلست فقط في عطلة.
لم يكن لدي أصدقاء. لم يكن لدي شيء. لقد دخلت الموسيقى. لقد دخلت الموسيقى لأنه أعطاني الإحساس بالانتماء للمجتمع. يعجبني عندما يتحدث الناس معًا ويلعبون معًا ، ويتنازلون معًا. إنه شعور بالمجتمع. كان الكثير منها جزءًا من والدي. تذكرت عندما كان يدرس في المدرسة ورأيت الناس يلعبون فيها أوركسترا. أعطتني أوركسترا طريقة للتواصل. 

ما الذي ساعدك خلال الأيام التي أعقبت وفاته؟
بصراحة ، لا أعرف. كنت صغيرا جدا. ما ساعدني عندما عشنا اجدادي' كانت المزرعة تخرج إلى البركة في المزرعة وتبحث عن الحفريات أو تخرج إلى الحظيرة وتحاول التقاط القطط الصغيرة. تحطمت على اوريغامي ، وهو أمر فعله والدي. انها ليست لي العاطفة بعد الآن لأنني لا أرى فيه شعور المجتمع بعد الآن. في المدرسة ، كان هناك المزيد من المجتمع عندما قمت بذلك لأنني صنعته وأعطيته طوال الوقت.  

هل ذهبت الى الجنازة؟ هل كان ذلك مفيدا لك أم لا؟
ماذا لم يكن كانت مفيدة لجميع الناس. طورت القلق. طلبت المشاهدة تلفزيون والابتعاد عن الطريق.  

القلق هو رد فعل شائع جدًا للحزن. كيف تطورت لك على مر السنين؟
كنت ضعيفًا جدًا أمام الأشخاص الذين علقتُ معهم. لقد تأذيت من أصدقائي الأوائل ومن صديقاتي على مر السنين. أنا فقط لا أثق بالناس الآن. لسنوات كنت أحمل سكينًا معي لسنوات لأنني لم أثق بالناس.  

الشيء الآخر الذي أتذكره هو كيف كنت وما زلت تحميني للغاية وأخيك الصغير. 
كانت هناك حالتان عندما كنا في كنيسة ورأيت أخي يتعرض لأذى من قبل أطفال آخرين ، وأنا أفقد ذلك. أجد صعوبة في الوثوق بالناس في الكنائس الكبيرة الآن. 

ما الذي تبحث عنه في صديق؟
معي الأفضل صديق ، إنه صادق بوحشية. إنه صادق ويمكنني أن أكون صادقًا معه في معتقداتي.  

خسارة الوالد ستؤدي حتمًا إلى تغيير الشخص. كيف تعتقد أنك تغيرت بسبب وفاة والدك؟ كيف أثرت على علاقاتك الأخرى؟ 
لقد جعلني أكثر عدم ثقة من الناس. لدي قلق. مع أفضل ما لدي صديق الذي فقد والدته قبل عام، أرى أنه فقد بعض الأخلاق. قال ثأقول سوء بعض الأشياء التي قد لا يفعلها قال من قبل. إنه ليس نفس الشخص الذي كان عليه من قبل. لكن كان لديه بعض الوقت للاستعداد لانه لost والدته على مرض طويل. لم يكن لدي الوقت للتحضير لأنني ضائع لي أبي لحادث. عندما يكون مفاجئًا ، تتضخم الصدمة. ليس لديك وقت للتحضير. كان لدى صديقي الوقت للتحضير ، لكنه ما يزال لم أصدق أنه سيحدث.  

كانت لديك خبرة في التواجد مع صديق مقرب عندما ماتت والدته بعد مرض طويل.
كنا نتسكع مع أصدقائي وأنا وأرسلت صديقي الآخرين إلى المنزل وطلبوا مني أن أبقى وأستمتع بأطفال العائلة الممتدة الذين كانوا في وداع لأم صديقي. وماتت. كان علي أن أخبر الأطفال الآخرين أن عمتهم ماتت.  

لا بد أن تلك كانت التجربة تمامًا عندما كنت هناك  متى له ماتت أمي. 
كانت تجربة عظيمة. كنت أعرف أنه كان على وشك أن يحدث. كان مثل déjà vu. لكن أعتقد أنه كان بسبب حقيقة مكثت وساعدت يبدو أن والده يحترمني.  

ما هي بعض الطرق التي تظل بها متصلاً بوالدك الآن؟
الموسيقى والأوريغامي ، حقًا ... من خلال الموسيقى. خاصة عندما أخرج تلك التعبد الدقيق الأغاني التي فعلنا ، أشعر وكأننا عدنا إلى نفس الطاولة بالضبط مرة أخرى حيث لعبنا الموسيقى سويا كأسرة 

لقد تطوعت لمدة عام تقريبًا في برنامج الأطفال في Midland. ماذا يعني هذا العمل مع الأطفال الحزينين لك كشخص فقد أحد الوالدين في مرحلة الطفولة؟
لست متأكدا ما يعنيه. في بعض الأحيان تكون هذه الحالات أكثر تطرفًا مما مررت به. إنه أمر ساحق ، ولا أعرف كيفية الرد حتى الآن. لهذا السبب يمكنني التعبير عن الأشياء بشكل أفضل من خلال الموسيقى والأفلام ، يجرى فني. 

ما هو الجزء المفضل لديك من عملك التطوعي في ميدلاند؟ 
أحد الأشياء المفضلة لدي هو مساعدتك في العثور على أفلام أو أغاني جيدة تساعد الأشخاص على التواصل في حزنهم... سr مساعدة أحد الأطفال على التواصل مع الموسيقى في الحزن. 

 لديك الكثير من الاهتمام ببرنامج Reel Grief. كيف ترى الأفلام والموسيقى كوسيلة لمساعدة الناس يتحسر. 
أحد أفلامي المفضلة هي الرومانسية ذات العواطف الشديدة لكنها لا تعمل ، وعندما تنتهي ، تحزن الشخصية الرئيسية ويجب أن تتعلم كيفية المضي قدمًا. ليس كل شيء يعمل بالطريقة التي يريدونها. فيلم آخر مفضل ينطوي على موقف صعب ويجب أن يأتي بأدوات التكيف للمساعدة في التعامل معه. 

الموسيقى تساعد فقط على الحبال ، والحبال الرئيسية والثانوية ، ويمكنك "التوابل". يمكنك إضافة "توتر" إليها لتخبر القصة. مع الفيلم ، إنها صور تحكي القصة. إذا تم ذلك بشكل صحيح ، فأنت تشعر بالضبط بما تحاول القصة أن تحكيه. كلاهما حوار أيضا.  

ما هي الأفكار النهائية التي تود مشاركتها مع طفل حزين ، أو مع الوالد الذي يحاول تربية طفل حزين؟
تتحسن في النهاية. من يدري ، قد يؤدي هذا في النهاية إلى شيء أفضل على الطريق. كان لدينا الكثير من الموت في فترة زمنية قصيرة. لقد فقدت عمتي ووالدي وجدّي والعديد من الحيوانات الأليفة (التي أخذتها شخصيًا). لكن هذا قادني في النهاية إلى تعلم كيفية التأقلم مع الأخطاء وتعلم كيف أصبح الشخص الذي أريد أن أكونه.  

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأن تصبح متطوعًا في Midland Care ، فاتصل بشيري كومز على scombs@midlandcc.org أو اتصل على 785-232-2044.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

رعاية ميدلاند

Call Today: 800-491-3691

Meet the Volunteers – The Center for Hope and Healing

Meet the Volunteers – The Center for Hope and Healing

Categories: Blog, grief and loss

The Center for Hope and Healing is grateful for the many volunteers that make outreach to grieving individuals and families possible. Periodically we want to introduce some of these individuals to the reader as they are crucial parts of the team at the Center for Hope and Healing. 

Our first featured volunteer is Cian O’Byrne. Cian is 19, the son of one of the counselors, who has volunteered with Midland for about a year.  As with many of our volunteers he was directly impacted by death when his father died over 11 years ago when he was 7 years old.  Cian is interested in movies and music. He plays several instruments, including the violin, mandolin and the ukulele. Cian volunteers in the children’s programs at the Center for Hope and Healing, helping with Family Nights and the children’s camp. He has shared his music talents with the kids at camp, teaching  them chords on the ukulele.  He also provides his insights and suggestions for movie based groups, such as Reel Grief and the video clips used for Family Nights. 

What was your life like before your dad died? And what do you remember about the day he died?
I honestly don’t remember much of what life was like before dad died. I do remember some particular stuff, like devotions, and listening to/playing music and my aunt living with us. The day he died was a weird day. All I remember is being school and being pulled out by a church friend. I go to her house and find out my dad died, and I don’t believe it. I just thought he was asleep. Then when my uncle brought me home, I realized that my dad wasn’t coming back, I just screamed. And then we watched the Muppets. We watched some tv. I think the comedy was something I needed to keep my head above water.  

What changes did you have to deal with after his passing? Which changes were the toughest?
Honestly, as mean it sounds, it got a lot easier. We got out of a bad neighborhood. We got to be with family and all the animals on the family farm. I adjusted to a new school and new friends. But for awhile, I was vulnerable and got in with the wrong kids.  

I remember your teacher or counselor telling me they were concerned because you just sat by yourself at recess.
I had no friends. I had nothing.  I got into music. I got into music because it gave me a sense of community. I like it when people are talking together and playing together, compromising together. It is a sense of community. A lot of it was part of my dad. I remembered when he taught in school and I saw people playing in orchestra. Orchestra gave me a way to communicate. 

What helped you during the days after his passing?
Honestly, I don’t know. I was so young. What helped me when we lived at my grandparents’ farm was going out to the pond on the farm and looking for fossils or going out to the barn and trying to capture kittens. I latched onto origami, which is something that my dad did. It’s not my passion anymore because I don’t see in it the sense of community anymore. In school there was more community when I did it because I made it and gave it away all the time.  

Did you go to the funeral? Was that helpful or not for you?
What wasn’t helpful was all the people. I developed anxiety. I asked to watch tv and get out of the way.  

Anxiety is a very common response to grief. How has that evolved for you over the years?
I was very vulnerable to the people I hung out with. I got hurt by my first friends and by girlfriends over the years. I just don’t trust people now. For years I would carry a knife with me for years because I didn’t trust people.  

The other thing I remember is how you were and still are very protective of me and your little brother. 
There were a couple of instances when we were at a church and I saw my brother being bullied by other kids, and I about lost it.  I have trouble trusting people in big churches now. 

What do you look for in a friend?
With my best friend, he is brutally honest. He is honest and I can be honest with him in my beliefs.  

Losing a parent is inevitably going to change a person. How do you think you changed due to your dad’s passing? How did it impact your other relationships? 
It has made me a lot more distrustful of people. I have anxiety. With my best friend who lost his mom a year ago, I see he has lost some morals. He will say some things he might not have said before. He is not the same person he was before. He had some time to prepare, though because he lost his mom over a long illness. I didn’t have time to prepare because I lost my dad to an accident. When it is sudden, you have shock amplified. You don’t have time to prepare. My friend had time to prepare, but he still didn’t believe it would happen.  

You had the experience of being with a close friend when his mom died after an extended illness.
We were hanging out, my friends and I, and my friend sent the others home and asked me to stay and entertain the kids from the extended family who were in to say goodbye to my friend’s mom. And she died. I had to tell the other kids that their aunt died.  

That must have been quite the experience when you were there  when his mom died. 
It WAS quite an experience. I knew it was going to happen. It was like déjà vu. But I think it was because of the fact I stayed and helped that his dad seems to respect me.  

What are some ways you remain connected to your dad now? 
Music and origami, really… mostly through music. Especially when I get out those exact devotional songs that we did, I feel like we are back at that same exact table again where we played music together as a family 

You have been volunteering for about a year in the kids’ program at Midland. What has this work with grieving children meant to you as someone who lost a parent in childhood?
I’m not sure what it means. Sometimes these cases are much more extreme than what I went through. It is overwhelming, and I don’t know how to respond yet. That is why I can express things better through music and movies, being artistic. 

What has been your favorite part of your volunteer work at Midland? 
One of my favorite things has been helping you find good movies or songs that help people connect in their grief… or helping one of the kids connect with music in grief. 

 You have a lot of interest in our Reel Grief program. How do you see movies and music as ways to help people grieve. 
One of my favorite movies is a romance with extreme emotions but it doesn’t work out, and when it is over, the main character grieves and has to learn how to move on. Not everything works out the way they want. Another favorite movie involves a difficult situation and having to come up with coping tools to help deal with it. 

Music just helps with just the chords, the major and minor chords, and you can “spice it up.” You can add “tension” to it to tell the story. With film, it is images to tell the story. If it is done right, you feel exactly what the story is trying to tell. Both of them are dialogue too.  

What final thoughts would you like to share with a grieving child, or with the parent who is trying to raise a grieving child? 
It does eventually get better. Who knows, this may eventually lead to something better down the road. We had a lot of death in a short time period. I lost my aunt, my dad, my grandfather and several pets (which I took personally). But that eventually led to me learning how to cope from mistakes and learning how to become the person I want to be.  

If you’re intersted in becoming a volunteer for Midland Care, contact Sherry Combs at scombs@midlandcc.org or call 785-232-2044.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Assistance Inquiry

The information collected will be used solely for the purposes of connecting you to the resources you are looking for. You will not be subscribed to any newsletters. If you are interested in working for Midland Care please visit our careers page, job inquiries on this form will not be responded to.
  • Select your preferred contact method
  • Please describe what you are looking for help with
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Midland Care